Fanless Under-Desk Heaters for Cold Feet at a Home Office, Plus One Fan Heater for Cold Rooms (2026)

Published · Last updated

We haven’t tested these heaters ourselves. Our picks are based on manufacturer specs and manuals, safety-certification directory records, U.S. government recall and incident databases, and published expert reviews. See How we researched this.

If you’re shopping for a “silent” under-desk heater, you’ll find four quite different kinds of product sold under that one word. Some are fanless radiant panels, some are heated footrests, some are heated floor mats, and some are small fan heaters. None of the top-ranking pages we reviewed compares those formats side by side, along with what each one costs to run per workday and what safety features it has. That comparison is what this guide is for.


Quick picks by buyer type

If you are…Our research pickWhy, in one line
On calls or recording, and want no fan noiseCozy Products Cozy Legs (CP-LEGS)It’s a fanless 150 W radiant panel, ETL Listed to UL 499, and the maker says it can sit right against a desk panel. It has no tip-over switch or timer.
Mainly cold in the feet, and want a footrest anywayCozy Products Toasty Toes (TT)It’s a 105 W heated footrest that adjusts to three positions.
In a cold room, not just cold at the feet, and fine with fan noiseDreo Ceramic Heater 316 (formerly Atom 316)It’s a 1500 W fan heater with a thermostat, a 1–12 hour timer, and tip-over protection.

No current pick combines no fan with a tip-over switch. The NewAir AH-400, the only fanless heater with a tip-over switch and a safety listing we could verify, was unavailable from any verified non-Amazon retailer as of Oct 7, 2026 (see the note below).

We ordered these picks by how well they fit each buyer’s problem and by their published safety features. No brand pays for placement, and we don’t earn from these links.


The picks in detail

Cozy Products Cozy Legs (CP-LEGS): our research pick for no fan noise in tight spaces

Cozy Products Cozy Legs Heater Panel CP-LEGS

What it is: a flat radiant panel that stands behind or beside your legs. It has no fan (Cozy Products).

Key facts:

Who it’s for:

Who it’s not for:

Honest downsides:


Cozy Products Toasty Toes (TT): our research pick for cold feet plus a footrest

Cozy Products Toasty Toes Heated Foot Rest TT

What it is: a heated footrest with no fan. It works in three positions: as a footrest, as an upright panel, or lying flat (Cozy Products).

Key facts:

Who it’s for:

Who it’s not for:

Honest downsides:


Dreo Ceramic Heater 316 (formerly Atom 316): our research pick for a cold room, not just cold feet

Dreo Ceramic Heater 316 (formerly Atom 316)

What it is: a compact 1500 W ceramic (PTC) fan heater. It is not silent: it has a fan. It’s here for people who need to warm the room, not just their feet (Dreo).

Key facts:

Who it’s for:

Who it’s not for:

Honest downsides:


Worth watching: NewAir AH-400

Currently unavailable (as of Oct 7, 2026): we couldn’t find the NewAir AH-400 for sale from any verified non-Amazon retailer, and NewAir’s own store showed it as sold out (NewAir). It’s not a current pick for that reason. We’ll reconsider it if it comes back in stock.

It’s worth knowing about because it’s the only fanless heater with a tip-over switch and a safety listing we could verify. It’s a 400 W oil-filled panel, ETL Listed to UL 1278, which we confirmed in Intertek’s public directory (directory record). It also has an overheat shut-off, but no timer (NewAir; manual v1.2). Its manual says to keep combustible materials 3 ft from the front, and it says to avoid using an extension cord (manual v1.2). The warranty length is unclear. NewAir advertises a 2-year warranty, and its warranty policy gives 2 years for purchases on or after Nov 12, 2025 unless the product’s manual says otherwise, but the only AH-400 manual online (v1.2) says 1 year (NewAir warranty policy; manual v1.2).


Comparison table

Cozy Legs CP-LEGSToasty Toes TTDreo Ceramic Heater 316
Form factorRadiant panelHeated footrestCeramic fan heater
Fan?NoNoYes
Where the heat goesShins and feet in front of the panelSoles of the feetAir around the desk / small room
Watts1501051500
Safety listing (directory-checked)ETL / UL 499ETL / UL 499ETL / UL 1278
Tip-over switchNoNoYes
Overheat protectionYes (over-temperature regulator)Not listedYes
Timer / auto-offNoNo1–12 h timer
Heat settingsOff / half / fullNot listedThermostat 41–95°F, ECO mode
Published surface temperature~130°F (Cozy web page) or ~140°F (spec sheet)~120°F footrest / ~140°F upright (dealer)Not published; Trusted Reviews says the grille gets very hot
Clearance note“Zero-Clearance” (maker claim)Not statedCombustibles and cords at least 3 ft (0.9 m) from front; away from sides and rear (manual)
Warranty6 months6 months1 year

Sources: see each pick above. “Not listed” or “not stated” means we didn’t find the detail in the maker’s materials or the other sources we checked. It doesn’t mean the feature is absent.


“Silent” usually means “no fan,” and we didn’t find noise measurements for fanless under-desk models

Only one kind of product here has a fan, and that’s the fan heater. The panels and the footrest have no fan. But “silent” is marketing language, and we didn’t find any independent decibel measurements for fanless under-desk panels or mats. The only measured figure among our picks is for the Dreo fan heater: 47.9 dB from 6 inches, per Good Housekeeping. Consumer Reports’ quietest space heaters roundup (updated Nov 5, 2025) makes the general trade-off clear: fanless models are quieter but score lower for heating. If you record audio, note that “no fan” doesn’t promise zero sound.

Which form factor actually warms your feet?

We didn’t find verified warm-up-time data for the panels or the footrest.

Can a heated mat go on carpet or hardwood?

Check the maker’s floor guidance before you buy, because it varies. For example, Cozy Products says its CozyFoot Warmer mat should be used “on hard, cold surfaces such as cement, tile, and stone. It is not recommended for direct use on carpet, hardwood, linoleum, or other delicate surfaces” (Cozy Products, checked Oct 7, 2026). That means “hard floors only” isn’t accurate: hardwood is excluded too. Another Cozy mat, Cozy Toes, gives no explicit guidance either way on carpet (Cozy Products).

What it costs to run per workday

These figures are electricity costs, not product prices. They’re upper limits that assume the heater runs at full power for 8 hours straight. Models with a thermostat or regulator cycle on and off, which lowers real-world use by an amount we can’t measure. The calculation is watts ÷ 1,000 × 8 hours × electricity rate. We used the U.S. average residential rate of 18.31¢/kWh (July 2026) and California’s 33.61¢/kWh as a high-cost example. Both rates come from the U.S. Energy Information Administration. Electricity rates vary by month and by utility; winter rates may differ from July’s.

PickWattsPer 8-hr day @ 18.31¢Per 8-hr day @ 33.61¢ (CA)Per 21-workday month @ 18.31¢
Toasty Toes TT105$0.15$0.28$3.23
Cozy Legs CP-LEGS150$0.22$0.40$4.61
Dreo Ceramic Heater 316 (full power)1500$2.20$4.03$46.14

Plug in your own rate from your utility bill to get your number.

Will it trip a breaker?

A 1500 W heater draws about 12.5 amps at 120 V (1500 ÷ 120). That’s most of a typical 15 A household circuit, so if a computer or laser printer shares the circuit, the breaker may trip. The Cozy Legs (150 W) and Toasty Toes (105 W) draw much less: about 1.25 A and 0.9 A (watts ÷ 120 V).

Plug into the wall, not a power strip

Dreo’s user manual says to plug the heater directly into a wall outlet and never use an extension cord or relocatable power tap (Dreo manual, third-party copy on ManualsLib). Our house advice for every heater on this page is the same: plug it into a wall outlet, with no power strips. Always follow your model’s manual.

Bags, papers and leaving it on during meetings

Look for a listing you can check, not just a logo or “compliant”

Look for a listing from a recognized testing lab, such as UL or Intertek (ETL). If you want to be sure, search the brand or model in the lab’s public directory. We did this for every pick using Intertek’s ETL directory. A product page that says a heater is “compliant” with a standard isn’t the same as a listing you can look up.

Recalls

On Oct 7, 2026, we searched CPSC recall records, and they showed no recall for any of our three picks. We also searched SaferProducts.gov incident reports by brand name, because model-number searches don’t work reliably there. SaferProducts.gov reports are submitted by consumers and aren’t verified. Among our picks, only the Toasty Toes had one, which is noted above. Recall status can change, so we re-check heater picks monthly.

Raynaud’s, circulation and arthritis

Some sellers market heaters like these for circulation or arthritis relief. We don’t make any health claims for these products. If you have reduced sensation in your feet or legs, you may not notice a surface getting too hot, so talk with your doctor before using a heated surface. NewAir’s manual, for example, says its heater isn’t for people with reduced heat sensitivity (NewAir manual v1.2). The published surface temperatures for Cozy Legs and Toasty Toes run about 120–140°F.

If your workplace bans space heaters

Many offices don’t allow space heaters. Check your employer’s or building’s policy first. We can’t tell you whether any product here would be allowed.


Also considered (and why they’re not picks)


How we researched this

We did not test these products. Our research team compiled published information on Oct 7, 2026:

To make our list, a heater needed a safety listing we could verify in a public directory, plus published protection features. The one exception is the Toasty Toes footrest, whose maker lists no protection features; we kept it as the lowest-wattage option for cold feet. We then matched each pick to the buyer problem it fits best, and set aside a heater we couldn’t confirm for sale from any verified non-Amazon retailer (the NewAir AH-400). We didn’t use Amazon customer ratings or reviews. No brand paid for placement, and we don’t earn from the links in this guide. Where sources disagreed, such as a warranty length or a surface temperature, we’ve said so on the page.

Questions or corrections? contact us


Sources (accessed Oct 7, 2026)